OAF News

Art Photographer Raymonde April Receives $35,000 Award

Toronto, November 29, 2005 –Montréal based photographer Raymonde April is the 2005 recipient of the $35,000 Paul de Hueck and Norman Walford Career Achievement Award for Art Photography

Raymonde April's photographic work has been exhibited both nationally and internationally.  Currently Aires de migration  with French photographer/ video artist MichËle Waquant is showing at Montréal's VOX Centre de l'image contemporaine. Her previous solo shows include Tout embrasser at Concordia University's Leonard and Bina Ellen Gallery and Raymonde April: bifurcations, at the Centre culturel Yvonne L. Bombardier in 2004-2005.   Les fleuves invisibles, originated with the Musée d'art de Joliette in 1997 and toured in Canada and France until 2000. Raymonde April was awarded the Paul-…mile Borduas prize in 2003, and lives in Montréal, where she has been teaching photography at ConcordiaUniversity since 1985.

Raymonde April has contributed significantly to the evolution of photography in Canada.   Her work centres around notions of autobiography, narrative and document. In her large-scale streams of images, she devises a patient play on permutations, a visual prose dominated by the principles of recurrence and discontinuity.

The de Hueck/Walford Award was established at the Ontario Arts Foundation  by the late Norman Walford, former Executive Director of the Ontario Arts Council, and the late Paul de Hueck, former CBC television production manager.  The Ontario Arts Council administered the selection process working with jurors Robert Enright, critic and professor of Art Criticism at the University of Guelph, Martha Hanna, Director of the Canadian Museum of Contemporary Photography, and Vancouver photographer Jeff Wall, the winner of the 2003 de Hueck/Walford Award.

The Ontario Arts Foundation manages the endowment that funds the de Hueck/Walford Award.  Established in 1991 as a public charitable foundation, the Foundation holds over 270 endowments totalling more than $43 million and pays out over $2 million annually in support of the arts.

- 30  -

For further information, please contact:
Janet Stubbs
Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
416 969 7413


James Rolfe Wins the Louis Applebaum Composers Award

Toronto, November 8, 2005 - Canadian composer James Rolfe has won the Louis Applebaum Composers Award.  This year's $10,000 award recognizesexcellence in music composition for theatre, music theatre, dance or opera.

Composer James Rolfe, one of Canada's leading contemporary composers, receives the award for his outstanding work in the field of opera.  Mr. Rolfe is well known for his first opera Beatrice Chancy (libretto by George Elliott Clarke), which was praised by audiences and critics alike during the Queen of Puddings Music Theatre Company's production in Toronto, Dartmouth and Edmonton, and broadcast nationally by CBC TV.  His Orpheus and Eurydice (libretto by André Alexis) was recently given a semi-staged production by the Toronto Masque Theatre, and Rosa (libretto by Camyar Chair) was performed in Tapestry New Opera Work's 2004 edition of Opera-to-go and at the Opera America conference in Detroit in 2005.   His new children's opera Elijah's Kite (libretto by Camyar Chai), a co-production of the Manhattan School of Music and Tapestry New Opera Works, will receive its New York premiËre in April 2006.

The Ontario Arts Council  administered the selection process working with jury members  Eda Holmes, theatre director, Christopher House, choreographer and Artistic Director of Toronto Dance Theatre, Rick MacMillan, Manager, SOCAN Foundation and Wayne Strongman, Managing Artistic Director, Tapestry New Opera Works.

The Louis Applebaum Composers Fund was established at the Ontario Arts Foundation in 1998 by Louis Applebaum  to recognize excellence in music composition of any genre.   ìCanadian composer Louis Applebaum devoted his life to the cultural awakening of Canada, and this ìmagnificent obsessionî drove him to become a founder of the Canadian League of Composers and the Canadian Music Centre.  He was an instrumental figure in the early development of the National Film Board, the Stratford Festival, and the National Arts Centre in Ottawa.  For nearly half a century he composed music for the Stratford Festival, television, radio and filmsî.  (from Louis Applebaum, A Passion for Culture by Walter Pitman, Dundurn Press)

The first Louis Applebaum Composers Award, presented to Canadian composer R. Murray Schafer in 1999, was a lifetime achievement award that recognized both excellence in composition and the impact of a composer's work on society.  Alexina Louie and Alex Pauk were the second recipients of the Award, which recognized excellence in film and television composition.

The Ontario Arts Foundation manages the endowment that funds the Louis Applebaum Composers Award.  Established in 1991 as a public charitable foundation, the Foundation holds over 270 endowments totalling more than $43,000,000 and pays out over $2 million annually in support of the arts in Ontario.

- 30  -

For further information, please contact:
Janet Stubbs
Director, Ontario Arts Foundation
416 969 7413


Thunder Bay School Kids Pick Winning Books

Toronto, June 3, 2005 ó Students from Claude E. Garton Public School in Thunder Bay today announced the 2005 winners of the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards.  Every year, student juries from a selected Ontario school present these national awards in two categories: children's picture book, which is split between the author and illustrator, and the young adult book/middle reader category.

Author/illustrator Wallace Edwards receives the $5,000 prize for Monkey Business (Kids Can Press Ltd.)while Kenneth Oppelreceives the $5,000 prize for Airborn (HarperCollins Canada)    The announcement was made at the school during a ceremony that included a reading by Thunder Bay author Charlie Wilkins.  

Five students in grade 3 and 4 chose Monkey Business as the best picture book because it was ìoriginal and funnyî and because they ìloved the realistic and detailed illustrations.î  Five students in grades 7 and 8 chose Airborn as the best young adult/middle reader book, saying that it had ìall the elements of a good book – a great mix of fantasy, adventure and romance.î

The Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards recognize Canadian writers and illustrators who demonstrate excellence in children's literature.  They were established in 1976 by Sylvia Schwartz in memory of her sister, Ruth Schwartz, a respected Toronto bookseller. In 2004, their family renamed the awards to honour both sisters. The first award went to Mordecai Richler for Jacob Two-Two Meets the Hooded Fang in 1976.

The administration of these awards is shared annually by the Ontario Arts Council, which selects the school and the juries, the Ontario Arts Foundation, the Ruth Schwartz Foundation and the Canadian Booksellers Association, whose members select the short list of books.

- 30 -

For more information, please contact:
Kirsten Gunter,
Communications Manager,
Ontario Arts Council  (416) 969-7403 or
toll-free in Ontario at 1-800-387-0058 ext.7403 or email kgunter@arts.on.ca

Ce document existe également en franÁais.


BLOG: Putting Wealth to Work.... Read more »