Personal Philanthropy

Louis Applebaum Composers Award

Canadian composer, administrator and champion of the arts, Louis Applebaum established the Louis Applebaum Composers Fund at the Foundation in 1998 to recognize excellence in composition. 

Louis composed music for numerous films, including the 1951 documentary Royal Journey, and was nominated for an Academy Award for his score of the 1945 war film, The Story of G.I. Joe. A vital force in Canada's cultural life over six decades, he was Executive Director of the Ontario Arts Council and Vice-President of the Canadian League of Composers. He was the first music director of the Stratford Festival and his fanfares have opened every performance since the Festival started in 1953. In 1976 he was made an Officer of the Order of Canada.

His foresight in creating a fund to support future Canadian composers ensures that his devotion to the arts will be felt for years to come.  

Prize:  $15,000


Current Recipient
2018     Hilario Durán


Hilarion Duran, winner of the 2018 Louis Applebaum Composers Award



 Listen to:
“Ontario's Memories” composed by Hilario Duran
Movement from the Suite to Celebrate Canada's 150th Anniversary


Past Recipients
2016     Alice Ping Yee Ho (theatre, music theatre, dance or opera)
2014     Mychael Danna (film and television)
2011     Dean Burry (composition for young people)
2008     David Virelles  (jazz)
2005     James Rolfe  (theatre, music theatre, dance or opera)
2002     Alex Pauk and Alexina Louie  (film and television)
1999     R. Murray Schafer  (lifetime achievement)


News Releases
Jazz Pianist and Composer Hilario Durán Awarded the Louis Applebaum Composers Award   February 6, 2019
Composer Alice Ping Yee Ho Wins the Louis Applebaum Composers Award  Nov 8, 2016

BLOG: The Role of an Endowment in COVID-19 Times... Read more »