Personal Philanthropy

The Virginia and Myrtle Cooper Award in Costume Design

The Virginia and Myrtle Cooper Award in Costume Design was established in 2006 by the late Dr. Virginia S. Cooper of Toronto. An annual award meant to be given “for the love of creation,” it is intended to enrich the careers of professional mid-career Canadian costume designers in Ontario through research and travel. 

Dr. Cooper had a keen interest in the performing arts, particularly in costume design, and served as a director of the Tarragon Theatre. She was a charter member of the Arts and Letters Club of Toronto and active in its activities. 


Prize:  $20,000

Current Recipient
2020    Sean Mulcahy

“Bend It Like Beckham, The Musical”. Starvox Entertainment. 2019. Blyth Jandoo with Paul Almeida. LX Jason Hand. Photo by Seanna Kennedy.


Past Recipients
2019    Joanna Yu
2018    Gillian Gallow
2017    Tamara Marie Kucheran
2016    Camellia Koo
2015    Robin Fisher
2014    Anne Dixon
    Julie Fox
2012    Dana Osborne
2011    Lea Carlson
2010    Carolyn M. Smith  
2009    Charlotte Dean
2008    Michael Gianfrancesco
2007    Judith Bowden


News Releases

Sean Mulcahy Awarded the 2020 Virginia and Myrtle Cooper Award in Costume Design   June 17, 2020

BLOG: The Role of an Endowment in COVID-19 Times... Read more »